ISA Certification

There are six ISA certification credentials, each of which is earned by passing a different exam. The full explanations of the ISA Certifications are available at the following link… ISA Website Credentials Explained.

Examinations are available in New Zealand.


ARBORISTISA Certified Arborist

To earn an ISA Certified Arborist credential, you must be trained and knowledgeable in all aspects of arboriculture. This certification covers a large number of topics giving the candidates flexibility in the arboricultural profession.


UTILITY SPECISA Certified Arborist Utility Specialist

An ISA Certified Arborist Utility Specialist has a minimum of 2000 hours experience over two years in electric utility vegetation management or has served as a consultant to a utility, with a minimum of 4,000 hours over a maximum 10-year period. The candidate must work in utility vegetation management.


MUNICIPAL SPECISA Certified Arborist Municipal Specialist

ISA Certified Arborist Municipal Specialist credential holders are current ISA Certified Arborists who have chosen municipal arboriculture or urban forestry as a career path. They have obtained a minimum of three additional years of work experience managing the establishment and maintenance of urban trees.


CLIMBER SPECISA Certified Tree Worker Climber Specialist

To be a ISA Certified Tree Worker Climber Specialist, candidates must have the skill and endurance to climb trees, demonstrate high regard for safety, and be able to get the job done off the ground.


AERIAL SPECCertified Tree Worker/Aerial Lift Specialist

The ISA Certified Tree Worker Aerial Lift Specialist certification requires candidates to demonstrate their ability to perform as a competent aerial lift operator.


MASTERISA Board Certified Master Arborist

The ISA Board Certified Master Arborist credential is the highest level of certification offered by ISA. This credential recognises ISA Certified Arborists who have reached the pinnacle their profession.



More information can be found on the ISA web site at ISA Credentials Explained.

Learn more about the ISA Certification and Credentials by viewing the exam study materials or downloading the ISA Certification Handbooks with detailed information about each of the six credentials.


Encouraging, fostering, improving and educating in all aspects of arboriculture throughout New Zealand.