New Arborist of the Year


NAOTY SPONSOR | Become a sponsor

GreenCycle Logo_Final_2.jpg



  • Held in conjunction with the regional Tree Climbing Competitions(TCCs)

  • One Multi-choice theory test

  • One Work Climb score taken from the regional TCC event

  • The person with best-combined score goes to finals

To register for a NAOTY regional event you need to be registered for a main regional tree climbing competition. There is no official sign up for the NAOTY competition. All other info will be given on the day. 


  • Held during NZ Arb Conference/NTCC in November

  • Theory tests

  • Student Mentor Lunch

  • Practical tests

  • Meet NZ's Top Climbing Arborists

  • Great Prizes and Trophy

To qualify for the NAOTY finals event, you must place first or second in a regional event. The top two competitors from each region will qualify for the finals event. If you qualify, you do not need to do anything else to register.

This competition is for arborists with 0-3 years of experience in the industry – Compete against people your own skill level and get industry recognition


  • Travel to the finals event at the Annual Conference*

  • 2 nights accommodation

  • Commemorative Finalist T-Shirt

  • Attendance to the Student Mentor Lunch

  • Access to the Friday sessions of the NZ Arb Conference

  • Ticket to the NZ Arb Conference Dinner & Awards ceremony

  • A finalist spot representing ‘arboriculture’ in Young Horticulturalist of the Year Competition* (flights and accommodation included) *entry criteria applies

*Terms and Conditions apply to all competitors.


  • The New Arborist of the Year title and trophy

  • Prizes and Certificate

Interested in competing? Download the NAOTY handbook

2020 NAOTY Finals Competitors

Martin Manoa

Region: Wellington​

Thomas Leach

Region: South Island​

Ryan Robinson 

Region: Auckland

Ruby Harrison

Region: Waikato

Anu Muller-O’Neill 

Region: Wellington​

Rhys Grierson

Region: South Island​

John Almazan

Region: Auckland

Dion Morgan

Region: Waikato

NZ Arboricultural Association​

1/23 Alma St, Buxton Sq, Nelson

PO Box 1193, Nelson 7040

04 472 6330

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© NZ Arboricultural Association 2020 – All rights reserved |

Website by OnCue Conferences & Association Solutions