top of page

Working Groups
& Liaisons 

Working Groups

Working Groups will be established throughout the year to deliver industry projects and outcomes.


If you have an interest in getting involved in an NZ Arb Working Group or are able to support with specific skills, please contact NZ Arb today ( 


Keep an eye on NZ Arb communications also for Working Group vacancies and leadership opportunities as they arise.

Standing Sub-Committees & Working Groups

UA Committee
(Utility Arborist Development)

Chair: TBC

Exec Rep: Derek Winwood


Colin Winch,

Carol Cairns,

Paul Brown,

Trevor Gardiner,

Ed Laity,

Peleti Tuala-Fata,

Tom Kitson,

Ryan Grant,

James Sokalski,

John Te Amo

Registered Master Arborists NZ Working Group

Lead: Richie Hill (Paper Street Tree Company)

Exec Rep: Richie Hill (Paper Street Tree Company)


Brad Cadwallader (Cadwallader Tree Consultancy),

Clive Barnes (Auckland Council),

Jack Taylor (Vertical Arborists)

Registered Consultants Programme Working Group

Lead: Andrew Benson (The Tree Consultancy Company)

Exec Rep: David Spencer (Tend Trees)


Howell Davies (Auckland Council)

Ask an Arborist Working Group

Lead: Mark Armistead 

Exec Rep: Mark Armistead

Regional Coordinators

Auckland: Leon Saxon

Wellington: Lydia Mihaka

Waikato/BoP: Craig Lamb (Wintec)

South Island: Reuben Edwards (Fulton Hogan)

Sponsorship & Fundraising Committee

Chair: Tim Rillstone

Lead: Scott Geddes (Auckland Tree Services)

Exec Rep: Scott Geddes

Advisor: Chris Walsh (Treetech)

Members: Recruiting

Workshops Committee

Chair: Tim Rillstone

Committee: Scott Geddes

NZ TCC Committee
(New Zealand Tree Climbing Competitions)

Chair: Craig Webb (Craig Webb Consultant Arborist)

Exec Rep: Scott Geddes (Auckland Tree Services)

Head Judge: Craig de Denus (Arb Innovations)

Head Tech: Andy Neverman 

Kids Climb: Branch Dwellers

Waikato/BoP: Craig Lamb (Wintec)

South Island: Raoni Hammer (The Tree People)

Wellington Coordinator: Oliver Peace

Conference Working Group

Lead: Julian Emeny (Porirua City Council)

Exec Rep: Julian Emeny


Derek Winwood (Invercargill City Council), Natalie Marsden (Auckland City Council), Chelsea Robertson (ProClimb), Ra Hamer (Tree People), Tawa de Goey (North Power), Lea Boodee (OnCue), Nicki van Asch (OnCue)

Skills Shortage & Career Pathway Working Group

Lead: Ben Worth (Treescape)

Exec Rep: Chelsea Robertson (ProClimb)
Board Liaison: Chelsea Robertson


James Isaacs (Tree King), Kevin Birdsall (Treescape) David Spencer (Tend Trees) May Coe (Treetech), Jono Summers

Membership Committee

Chair: TBC

Exec Rep: Jak Harris

Marketing Working Group

Lead: TBC

Exec Rep: Seb Bainbridge

Membership Committee

Chair/EC conduit: Jak Harris

Members Richie Hill, James McDuff

Lead: Brad Cadwallader

Exec Rep: Derek Winwood (Invercargill City Council)

Members: Lydia Mihaka (Porirua City Council), Steph Dryfhout, Mark Armistead (Tauranga City Council), Richie Hill (Paper Street Tree Company)

Tree of the Year Working Group 

Liaisons & Representatives

NZ Arb has the following Executive-appointed Liaisons, Representatives and similar positions.


The various roles below are charged with presenting quarterly reports to the Executive Committee at the Executive meetings.

Standing Liaisons & Representatives

Arbor Day Co-ordinator 
(Arbor Day Planning & Programmes)

Co-ordinator: Mark Roberts (Roberts Consulting)

ISA Certification Certifiers 
International Society of Arboriculture Certified Examinations


David Glenn,

David James (David James Tree Services),

Mark Roberts (Roberts Consulting)

MOU Partners Liaison
(Memorandum of Understanding Development & Maintenance)

Liaison: Howell Davies (Auckland Council)

Website Warden

Liaison: Toby Chapman (Christchurch City Council)

Advocacy – Stop The Chop Support

Liaison: VACANCY

ACOP Liaison 
(Approved Code of Practice Part 2 Review)

Liaison: David Glenn

ISA COR Chapter Representative
International Society of Arboriculture Council of Representatives

Representative: Richie Hill (Paper Street Tree Company)

NZ NTT Liaison 
(New Zealand Notable Trees Trust Communications)

Liaison: VACANCY

Advocacy – Stop The Chop Support

Liaison: VACANCY

ArbFest 2025 Working Group

Liaison: Jono Summers, Chelsea Robinson

Interested in Joining a Working Group or becoming a Liaison?

Click the button below to enquire about volunteering with NZ Arb.

bottom of page